About Nicolette

Nicolette Good is a Texas singer-songwriter and 2012 Kerrville New Folk winner. In a voice that’s at once refined and raw, she sings with penetrating insight about hope, wrenching love, and the mysteries of everyday life.

Nicolette’s latest release, Reverie (2019), celebrates her craft of songwriting with compositions such as the title track, as well as “Oasis” and “C’mon Doc.” It was recorded at Ramble Creek recording studio in Austin, TX.

Her effortless storytelling shines on her 2015 release, Little Boat on a Wave, in toe-tappers like “Union Jack,” “Tehuacana,” and the title track, which was inspired by actual events. The album was recorded by Joe Reyes in San Antonio, TX, and several cuts from Little Boat were composed during an artist fellowship at The Lighthouse Works in Fishers Island, New York.

Based in Austin, Texas, Nicolette released her first full-length, “Monarch” (2012), recorded at Ramble Creek recording studio. It includes songs like “Hurricane Caroline” and “Pretty Clementine,” which tell intimate stories of enigmatic, tragic characters, as she sings with penetrating insight about hope, wrenching love, and the mysteries of everyday life.

She’s shared bills with Mason Jennings, The Flatlanders, Caitlin Rose, Carrie Rodriguez, David Ramirez, Lincoln Durham, and Juanita Stein, to name a few. Good can be heard as a solo, duo, or full-band act in listening rooms, and house concerts across the country.

A Houston native, Nicolette is also a staff musician for Home Street Music, an Austin non-profit using music to empower people who have lived on the streets.

Excellent mix of self-penned Americana and Post-Folk songs from and for the heart.
— Alan Harrison, NoDepression


A music student since the age of 5, Nicolette Good got her start as a singer-songwriter in San Antonio, Texas, playing open mics and performing on friends’ musical projects while earning her Bachelor of Arts in Music and English. After graduating from Trinity University in 2007, she began performing solo, and by 2010 the San Antonio Current named her its Best Singer/Songwriter.

In March 2011, Good was picked to perform as a Regional New Folk Ballad Tree Performer at the Kerrville Folk Festival, and was a semifinalist during the 2011 Songwriter Serenade competition in Hallettsville, Texas.

Her first full-length album, Monarch (2012), includes tracks like “Marathon” that earned her a spot on the documentary-reality TV show, Troubadour, TX in 2011. Monarch, which was recorded at Ramble Creek in Austin, Texas, was named a top 12 album of 2012 by the San Antonio Current. Two songs from Monarch—“Call Me” and “Hurricane Caroline”—earned her a win in both the 2012 Grassy Hill Kerrville New Folk competition and the 2012 Wildflower! Performing Songwriter Contest.

In 2013, Nicolette Good was selected for a residential artist fellowship in Fishers Island, New York, called The Lighthouse Works. There, she spent six weeks working on new material which would make it onto her sophomore full-length album, Little Boat on a Wave (2015). In 2014, Good launched a Kickstarter to fund that record, which included a commissioned song, “Union Jack,” a marriage proposal song written for Kickstarter backer Craig Gonzales to his now-wife, Gillian Rollason. The album was recorded in San Antonio, and co-produced and engineered by Joe Reyes, (Demitasse, Buttercup, Mitch Webb & The Swindles, and Lara & Reyes).

Just prior to the release of Little Boat on a Wave, a fluke illness required Good to undergo five surgeries following a life-threatening bacterial infection in her brain. She spent two years away from the stage healing and doing physical therapy to regain use of her left hand, which became partially disabled by the ordeal. But Little Boat on a Wave’s title track (which was inspired by actual events) served as a hopeful premonition of a triumphant full recovery.

Nicolette Good embarked on her first tour abroad in 2018 with fellow songwriter Erin Ivey, performing in The Netherlands, Germany, and France.

In 2019, she began work on her third recording project, Reverie (2019), a collection of six self-penned songs, including new renditions of two songs—“Call Me” and “Hurricane Caroline”—that earned her a New Folk award. All songs written by Nicolette Good. Recorded in Austin, TX, at Ramble Creek recording studios, all songs were produced by Nicolette Good, except for “Reverie,” which was co-produced with fellow songwriter Colin Gilmore.

Good is a poet of the first order.
— D.c. Bloom, Lone Star Music Magazine



  • Southwest Regional Finalist - Mountain Stage NewSong Contest


  • Honorable Mention - American Songwriter Lyric Contest


  • Winner - Kerrville New Folk Competition

  • Winner - Wildflower! Performing Songwriter Contest

  • Best Singer/Songwriter - The San Antonio Current

  • Top 12 Local Albums - The San Antonio Current

  • Honorable Mention - American Songwriter Lyric Contest

  • Finalist - Songwriter Serenade Competition

  • Top 36 Songs of the Year - Independent Clauses



  • Reader’s Choice for Best Musician - San Antonio Magazine

  • Semifinalist - Songwriter Serenade Competition


  • Best Singer/Songwriter - San Antonio Current